PDA

View Full Version : what makes a good trainer

jody jaffe
Mar. 9, 2012, 09:59 AM
I realized when I was writing my latest column (link below) that my dream would have never happened were it not for my encouraging and thoughtful trainer, Gordon Reistrup.

Like most riders, I've had both good (Gordon, Peter Foley, Cindy Judkins) and bad (they will go unnamed) trainers. The good can inspire us to reach heights we didn't think we were capable of, the bad can strip away whatever confidence we have.

I'm a teacher. I think I know what makes good ones and bad ones. I'm going to write about this for an upcoming column and I'd love to hear from my fellow riders and include your views. Here are the questions for you:

What makes a good trainer? What makes a bad one? What's the best training experience you've had? And the worst? What do you think a trainer's job is?

You can either post here, or email me: Jodybjaffe@aol.com.

Here's my new column. And thank you to Gordon for making this happen:
http://www.chronofhorse.com/article/small-very-meaningful-triumph-road-recovery

Ghazzu
Mar. 9, 2012, 12:00 PM
Random thoughts from the boarding gate; I'm sure this will be *quite* the minority opinion:

--someone who can take a horse from first saddling to finished (not that it would be SOP for an individual, but IMHO, anyone calling him/herself a "trainer" ought to have done so at least once in their career.)

--someone who can work with a client and horse and bring them to a point where client can take horse to a show, care for, school, and turn in a creditable performance in the ring without the necessity of the trainer's presence.

--someone who has the nerve to tell a client "no" when it is in the best interest of the horse...

fair judy
Mar. 9, 2012, 12:22 PM
for myself,

1) a college degree demonstating a broad life experience (unless you rode with the team:))