PDA

View Full Version : chicken newbie question

TBROCKS
Mar. 4, 2012, 08:03 PM
Sorry if this is a redundant thread - a search didn't turn up anything. I'm a chicken newbie, with 6 little Rhode Island Red pullets now milling about in their warmed enclosure. We've had them about a week, and we bought them as layers. So far they seem to be doing well, and I'm working on getting them used to being handled. I'm getting nowhere with it. If anything, they're even MORE skittish than when we first brought them home! I know that RIR aren't the cuddliest chickens out there, but these chicks run from me like it's King Kong reaching into the box. It seems pretty stressful to them to have me pick them up - should I just leave them? How long does it take before these guys realize you're not a threat? Days? Weeks? Any suggestions for getting on their good side would be greatly appreciated.

ThisTooShallPass
Mar. 4, 2012, 08:11 PM
Just keep at it in a calm manner. Sit calmly holding each & talk to them quietly saying nice things. Got any nice bugs to feed them as you are holding them? You alll the sooner become the wonderful food lady!

TBROCKS
Mar. 4, 2012, 08:18 PM
TTSP they're about a week old, so bugs are ok to add to the diet? Up to now they've been on chick starter only. I'm only going off books and websites for information, and they seem fairly stringent on what to feed them.

eponacelt
Mar. 4, 2012, 08:20 PM
Go get some Happy Hen Treats (aka dried meal worms) and start feeding them on a regular basis. Worked like a charm for our red sex links.

Chestnut Run
Mar. 4, 2012, 08:23 PM