PDA

View Full Version : Varieties of Poultry?

dressagetraks
Mar. 3, 2012, 03:19 PM
I have a poultry catalog, and I'm getting dizzy. I had no idea this many varieties existed. Pages upon pages of chicks and ducks and geese and everything except the surrey with the fringe on top. I want to add some poultry this late spring/summer, but what sort? Help!

What I'm looking for:

Egg-laying poultry. :yes:
Grasshopper-and-tick-munching poultry. :yes:
Pretty is always a plus. :cool:
I don't mind crowing at dawn. I do mind constant shrieks, screams, and noise nonstop for noise's sake. :no:

What variety is right for me?

ETA: Oh yes, one more criterion. Seeing as I'm a novice at this, relative friendly and hard-to-kill poultry.

Chestnut Run
Mar. 3, 2012, 03:25 PM
Black Australorp, Rhode Island Red, Amerecauna (aka Easter Egger), any of the Orpingtons (Blue, Buff, etc).

All are good egg layers. The Amerecaunas lay blue or green eggs--shells only, rest of the egg is "normal". The Australorp and Orpingtons are big, gentle chickens. The Amerecaunas and Rhode Islands are a bit fiestier, but are better at foraging, which equals bug killing.

Sheila

Chestnut Run
Mar. 3, 2012, 03:29 PM
Forgot to mention, they are all pretty birds too. The Black Australorps are black with green, gold, and purple sheen to their feathers. The Orpingtons are "fluffy looking" because of their size. Rhode Islands are a dark mahogony type of brown with a bit of black in the feather. Ameracaunas are a variety of colors, but have the cutest little feather tufts around their "ears" that make it look like they are wearing ear-muffs.

Sheila

Calvincrowe
Mar. 3, 2012, 03:41 PM
I find Buff Orpingtons to be the matches to your criteria (though I can't speak to the bug eating--not many of those up here). They are calm, kind-natured birds, quite tame, good layers, pretty cold tolerant/heat tolerant (you really need to be aware of that).