PDA

View Full Version : For the Pros: When did you know you wanted to be a trainer and/or instructor?

Crown Royal
Feb. 25, 2012, 07:46 PM
Just out of curiousity. Did you turn pro as soon as you aged out of the juniors? Or were you an amateur for a while before you decided you wanted to be a professional? Are horses your main/only job, or are they a side job? Do you train horses, instruct riders, or both?

Mukluk
Feb. 26, 2012, 02:23 AM
I am not a pro and wouldn't want to be one. I have one horse who is an "only child." I love to devote all of my time and resources to her. I wouldn't enjoy riding several "other peoples" horses per day and trying to get "quick results" which is probably what most successful trainers need to be able to do. On the other hand. I think I would love teaching- so long as I didn't need to deal with parent's who had unreasonable expectations. So overall, I would be a lousy pro.

Credosporthorses
Feb. 26, 2012, 02:30 AM
I am a young pro, turned at 20. Really the only reason I turned pro so soon was because I was riding/training for other people. I now train and teach lessons. Horses right now are my only job, I would like to get a second job to help support myself with a little cushion. But I spend so much time at the barn and then doing online college right now having another job is just not feasible.
edit to add: I have wanted to go pro and train since I was a kid. Honestly can't imagine doing anything else with my life.

RumoursFollow
Feb. 26, 2012, 02:57 AM
Did you turn pro as soon as you aged out of the juniors? I was.. 26 I believe. July(ish) of 2006.