PDA

View Full Version : Sharps Containers at Horse Shows – Do YOU use them?

Appsolute
Feb. 24, 2012, 04:05 PM
This is a cross post, because I guess no one in off course uses sharps containers...

Ok… I feel like I am going to sound like I crawled out from under a rock, but here it goes!

I have been out of showing (eventing, and H/J – more C/ B level, not A) for a good 10+ years now. I still jump judge and help out at events, but I am not a competitor, and I usually do not make it back to the barns.

Back when I was showing, I was a working student, first at a large eventing barn (one of the biggest in the bay area at the time), and later at a smaller hunter jumper barn. I took care of not only my own horse at shows, but was often grooming for the trainer. I have NEVER used a sharps container at a show. Not for my horse, or any of the horses under my trainers. I have NEVER injected anything beyond vaccinations, joint supplements (Adequan) or antibiotics at the guidance of a vet. None of which were ever given at a show.

I remember seeing a full sharps container at the Menlo Circus Club (HJ show), but never recall seeing them at events (although I know they must be provided).

My questions are:

What legal substances are people injecting at shows? And by legal, I do not mean things that the USEF has not figured out a test for, because any substance given to calm a horse is in violation of the rule (right?)

Do you give injections at home? If so, what?
The “Carolina Gold” thread had me wondering this. Many people seem to comment about the “over flowing sharps containers”. What in the world are they injecting so much of?!?

Do you have a sharps container at your barn?

Ben and Me
Feb. 24, 2012, 04:27 PM
What legal substances are people injecting at shows? And by legal, I do not mean things that the USEF has not figured out a test for, because any substance given to calm a horse is in violation of the rule (right?)