PDA

View Full Version : strengthening tips please!

themarchcat
Jan. 30, 2012, 12:38 PM
Hello! I believe this is my first time posting in the eventing forum even if I am an eventer (despite several years off), but anyways, I am needing some help and suggestions for my gelding and I. He's coming off of an injury from May 2011 and has been being ridden since mid-December, though we are only just now getting more serious about our work. He goes really great at all gaits except when it comes down to cantering on the left lead. His point of weakness comes (some times dangerously) into play whenever I am asking him with the outside rein and leg to lift up his right (outside) shoulder and stay on a circle while cantering to the left (the dangerous part is that sometimes we just barely miss hitting obstacles because just cannot seem to move over..). I told my trainer this (as I haven't been able to take him back over to her place for lessons in a week or so) and she said that he needs to strengthen his right hind. Any suggestions on to how to work that right hind more?

Thanks! :winkgrin:

Wordplay1832
Jan. 30, 2012, 01:13 PM
Try some lateral work at the walk and trot. I am thinking shoulder/haunch in would be helpful in strengthening the hind end, as well as getting some flexibility out of the shoulder. If you can add in leg yield and a little baby half pass that's good too. Even just doing turn on the haunches and forehand, anything that is making him step up and underneath himself will help strengthen as well as keeping flexibility and getting him sensitive to your turning aids.

One thing I like to do is a shoulder in part way up the long side and then turn that into a quarter turn on the haunches so I know they are staying engaged and true off my outside leg. You can get into a nice feeling shoulder in, but if you add more outside leg and change the game to all of a sudden turning around it keeps them attentive and makes them change their body to a new motion.