PDA

View Full Version : OTTB as first horse?

Nike
Jan. 26, 2012, 12:17 AM
Hi everyone! I'm new and super happy to be part of this community! :)

Okay, so back to my question, I am very interested in adopting an OTTB. This horse would be my first horse. I have been riding for about 8 years now and eventing for about a year and a half. My riding experience includes teaching greenies to stay on the bit and consistently jump to riding eventing school masters. Currently, I am riding an arabian and preparing him for his first event. He is about 12, has some basics, but didn't know how to remain on the bit and wasn't much of a jumper. He refused all the time, but now we are consistently jumping three feet, with help from my trainer. :) Although I've never owned a horse or leased one, I am at the barn about four to five times a week, either working for my instructor or riding horses for boarders.

I'm used to hot-blooded breeds, ridden many arabians and a couple thoroughbreds, and I enjoy their energy. The reason I am considering an OTTB because I want a challenge and want to better myself as a rider. There is nothing better to me than seeing how far a horse has come. I'd really like to take the horse to at least preliminary, preferably a higher eventually, and I definitely expect that to take five or more years, but I'll be very patient. :) I will be working with my trainer weekly and she is always there for advice. Oh, and I would adopt one from a program that already starts the OTTB with basics. What do you guys think? Would it be a crazy idea or do you think it could work? Thanks for so much for reading! :)

faybe
Jan. 26, 2012, 12:26 AM