PDA

View Full Version : Aspiring Equestrian Professional. Need advice!

ChinUpHeelsDown
Jan. 24, 2012, 04:21 PM
Hey guys, I'm seeking the advice of those who are full time equestrian professionals.

I am currently in high school and I am looking for some guidance as to how I can make my dream of working with horses a reality. For some background, I have been riding for ten-ish years and I am currently leasing a horse. I ride three times a week and take two lessons a week. I am looking to compete in my first event this season, but I've competed in hunter/jumpers in the past. I might inquire about a working student position with my trainer this summer and we'll see how that works out. I'm an honors student and my parents are pushing for me to go to college and are willing to pay my way through. I know that equine degrees aren't really worth the trouble, so I won't be going that route. Will balancing school with training be an issue? Should I just skip college and dive headfirst into riding?

I was wondering what your stories are about how you chose horses as a career and how you got there. I am also looking for advice to shape my career path. I have no misconceptions of what the job will entail. I know it is hard work and I am willing to put in the hours. How to I make connections with future employers? What do I need to do to make this dream a reality?

Thanks in advance :)

SEPowell
Jan. 24, 2012, 04:34 PM
Go to college and in the summer work for pay for an excellent steeplechase trainer and then continue working there for a year after college. Then move back into eventing.

In a good steeplechase barn you'll develop more balance more quickly than you will in any other riding job. You'll also learn excellent horse management skills and be paid for your efforts. And it's fun.

Carried Away
Jan. 24, 2012, 04:35 PM