PDA

View Full Version : Let's just say, all you had was a picture of a horse...

TBFAN
Jan. 14, 2012, 09:38 PM
...could you determine if that horse was a decent jumper, or not?

I'm horse shopping, and quite a few interesting prospects are a looooonnnng way away from me. Just trying to determine as much as I can from a picture, since I'm fairly new at this game (all my previous horses ended up on my doorstep, in one way or another - this is my first time actually seeking one out).

Thanks for any advice.

Susan

AliCat518
Jan. 14, 2012, 09:41 PM
You could look for conformation faults in the picture. But I would want video of at least walk trot canter before buying a horse long distance and sight unseen.

TBFAN
Jan. 14, 2012, 09:48 PM
What conformation faults most indicate it would or wouldn't make a good jumper?
I heard Steuart Pittman say he could tell one of the TB challenge horses would be a good jumper just by the way he was put together. I'm not so sure I trust my eye to recognize that yet.

Donkey
Jan. 14, 2012, 10:07 PM
Looking solely at conformation seems risky to me - they can be built to jump but still be inclined to hang their legs (BTDT). Or they can totally surprise you in the opposite regard.

Hopefully the owners are motivated to sell and are willing to video some undersaddle or free-jumping for you. What happens if want to follow through and assume the expense of traveling to look at the horse? I would expect the ability to see the horse jump in person before laying out any cash, do the owners have the facilities available?