PDA

View Full Version : Where are all the quality eventers for sale?!?

PrinceSheik325
Dec. 23, 2011, 01:32 PM
This going to be more of a rant than a question, really, but I'd still love your input.

First, let me acknowledge that I'm aware I have ridiculously high standards for the money I'm prepared to spend (less than $50,000 please, but really, the more bang I can get for my buck, the better!). Second, I also acknowledge that I may never find a horse that meets all of my requirements, but I'd like to think that I will.

So, without further ado, I'm looking for my next partner-in-crime: an eventer with some experience that is an above-average mover (in case I just want to do dressage) and jumps like a quality showjumper with his knees up to his eyeballs. Ideally, I'd like something that has competed at training level at least because my job doesn't afford me a lot of time for training a young horse at this juncture. I have a lot of experience myself, though, so a younger horse is not completely out of my options. Really, I just want a horse with upper-level potential to take me up to levels past where I have competed in the past (competed through Preliminary).

Aside from several barns located overseas, I'm finding it extremely difficult to find any quality horses that match my specifications. There are tons of "eventer prospects" that are too young and a handful of "experienced eventers" that are too old and/or unattractive. I know there are "quality" event horses out there somewhere, so my question is WHERE ARE THEY?!?

In all honesty, they should be all around me. I live in Virginia, the "eventing Mecca" to many, but I'm telling you there are some highly-priced, really unattractive horses here. In fact, I've found that most horses for sale in the U.S. typically are over-priced for their experience level.