PDA

View Full Version : Hmmm.. Insurance company letter

riderboy
Dec. 9, 2011, 06:33 PM
I had a knee arthroscopy 6 weeks ago. I received a letter from my health insurance carrier, Anthem, stating "If another person or entity caused or may be responsible for the injury/illness treated, we have processed the claim in accordance with you contract benefits. However, we may be able to recover the expense of these services from the party causing the injury." As much as I LOVE helmet threads, I think this might give pause to allowing anyone to ride on your property or in your barn without a helmet. Your friends may not sue you, but it sure sounds like the insurance company will. I'm not a lawyer, so correct me if I'm wrong. TIA! The rest of the letter is a questionnaire asking details about when and how and if I was injured. They can't sue my dog, he's the one that did it.

poltroon
Dec. 9, 2011, 06:38 PM
This is why signing a release is so important. Your health insurance company can sue to recover the costs of treating you even without your consent - or more specifically, you gave your consent in advance when you accepted the policy. They'll definitely try to find someone to sue in the case of an expensive accident like a serious brain injury.

Luseride
Dec. 9, 2011, 06:43 PM
I once had a very severe concussion. A few weeks afterwards I got a call from my insurance wanting to know how it happened. I could truthfully answer that I had no idea, I had lost about twelve hours of time.

I did not tell them I was pretty sure it happened while riding as that is the last thing I remembered. I did not want to give them horse riding fuel.

Duckz
Dec. 9, 2011, 06:49 PM
I've seen it happen - an insurance company went after the BO of a lesson barn for quite some time even though the rider had signed a release. I'm not sure how it resolved in the end.

mildot
Dec. 9, 2011, 06:55 PM
Subrogation: happens all the time.