PDA

View Full Version : Trying my hand at making a video: chronicling the backing of a 3 year old

Lisa Cook
Dec. 7, 2011, 09:08 AM
This past fall, my son learned the process of backing a young horse. The horse is owned by Noel Aderer, who also owns the horse that my son evented this past season. Noel was great about showing my son the steps of starting a young horse, and it was really educational for both my son, and the horse, too, I hope. :)

We worked with the horse once a week for 8 weeks over the course of the fall. I brought my camera along and captured the action along the way. I put together this little recap...it's my first time attempting to assemble a video, and I do not have an artistic/creative bone in my body, so I did my best, given my particular handicap. :)

So, with no further ado...the video. Ta Da!

Starting "Big" Under Saddle (http://vimeo.com/33255485)

sharri13
Dec. 7, 2011, 09:42 AM
A lovely chronicle of the adventure! Also, so nice to see another NHer!

Oberon13
Dec. 7, 2011, 09:48 AM
I love it! I also love the fact that you went from snow back to short sleeves in the process of those weeks...ahhh, weather....

You and Andy will cherish these pictures as Big grows and develops over the years!

wolfmare
Dec. 7, 2011, 10:26 AM
sweet. I loved the content- and thought you did a great job putting it together! Definitely a treasure for your son to have for the rest of his life.
:)

pony grandma
Dec. 7, 2011, 10:46 AM
Ditto ^^^ what a nice memory for your son to have! I did a lot of the same thing for my DD this yr. I did separate albums of her first time xc schooling the young homebred 5 yr old that she's starting, with videos, and albums of each clinic that she attended. The visable progress is amazing. I am so glad that I documented it. Like your son here, you can see the bond and partnership grow. Good on your boy for being so soft and kind. It will stand him well in life with all his relationships - what life lessons horses can teach!