PDA

View Full Version : All purpose saddle vs jumping saddle

Gloria
Nov. 22, 2011, 11:02 AM
Hi, this is my very first time venturing into this forum, because, well, I don't jump; or rather, I did not jump until about umm three days ago, literally, so please forgive me if I appear ignorant, because, well, I am:lol:

Short story about me: I'm a dressage rider who also rides hunt seat on the flat from time to time. I never jumped because I thought it looked a bit, well, scary. About a week ago, it suddenly occured to me that my Africa Safari trip was looming very very close (early December). I thought I had better get my butt over some jumps before I'm forced to jump in open plain on strange horses.

I contacted my good friend and trainer to put a crash course on me. She put me on a point-and-shoot horse and yesterday was my very second jumping lesson; and wow, what a rush! We finished yesterday's lesson with two verticals of approximately 18 inches. I was bubbling all evening driving my husband nut after my lesson.:lol:

Anyway, I had such a good time that I thought I might just continue doing some jumpings. So now come the question:

I have one hunt saddle (Barnsby all purpose). I know that they are fine for lower jumps and I will probably need a jump saddle for bigger jumps. But how big is too big before a jump saddle is needed? Obviously I prefer not to invest another saddle if I don't have too.

Thank you all for your input.

Dewey
Nov. 22, 2011, 11:51 AM
Well, I'm going to take a chance here. I have read enough on COTH to know that most people don't like all-purpose saddles. People will tell you that they put the rider in a chair seat, that they are really "no-purpose" saddles, etc.