PDA

View Full Version : Moving Barns - Help!!

ACTAlter
Nov. 21, 2011, 02:07 AM
To give a little background info: I currently ride at a barn with a trainer who is extremely rude and controlling, bad facilities, and a lot of drama, which is giving me very little reason to ride. I have been riding here for 8 years. Let's call this Barn A.

I am considering moving my gelding to a different barn in the area, with a nice trainer who is pretty well known, good facilities, and a fun and inviting atmosphere that is also professional at the same time. Let's call this Barn B.

As previously stated, trainer at Barn A is EXTREMELY controlling and rude. She always has to feel that she is in charge or else she starts firing off at people for no reason. If she knew that I was 'sneaking around' behind her back by planning on moving, she would wring my neck, which is why no one else at Barn A knows that I am moving and why I am posting under an alter.

So my predicament is this: How do I tell trainer at Barn A that I am leaving? I would like to do this without completely severing relationships with the people at this barn, but I am afraid that is impossible. I am grateful to the trainer at Barn A for getting me to where I am now in my riding, but I simply can't handle boarding there anymore, for numerous reasons.

I am planning on having trainer from Barn B come to pick my horse up with her trailer, as I don't have a trailer of my own. So... How much notice should I give trainer A that I am leaving? I can't tell her too far in advance or else she'll yell at me and I wont be able to ride until my gelding is at the new barn. Plus, I don't want to be harassed by everyone at Barn A on why I am leaving. However, I feel it would be in poor taste to tell her the day before my horse gets picked up.