PDA

View Full Version : How many times do you ride a week?

Hannahxoxo
Nov. 15, 2011, 11:15 PM
So I don't own or lease my own horse, I just take a horse riding lesson once a week. I feel like it is taking me FOREVER to improve my riding... & every time I do improve something happens and I end up taking 2 steps back. I feel like I have been stuck at the same level of riding for years now. I am only 15 years old but I have been riding for 6-7 years, which isn't a long time, but I feel like I should have more accomplished then I do now. I am wondering if that is because I don't get enough time to ride. :/

Mayaty02
Nov. 15, 2011, 11:31 PM
makes a HUGE difference just to get out there more than once. Think of it this way, if you ride one more day per week, you're doubling your saddle time and you will improve that much faster.

I personally only ride 1x per week, if I'm lucky, but I'm an old fogie and really just do it for fun. My 9 yr old daughter rides two ponies, at least 5 times per week. And let me tell you it has made a HUGE difference. She rode for a whole year 1x lesson per week, and was barely cantering at the end of that year. Fast forward to the end of year 2, she is cantering courses of 2 ft and 2'3" on a variety of ponies and her room is filled with blue ribbons ;) People ask me how the significant change came about - it's ALL about saddle time.

billiebob
Nov. 15, 2011, 11:39 PM
I try for three times a week, although it sometimes only ends up being two.

There's really no substitute for saddle time. The once-a-weekers I teach generally take longer to come along than those that ride at least twice a week.

ake987
Nov. 15, 2011, 11:40 PM
When my workload in class and at my internship allows, I ride my horse 5/6x a week. But this semester.. unfortunately it's been more like 1-2x a week! :(