PDA

View Full Version : Tips for re-rider

Minipony75
Nov. 12, 2011, 09:22 PM
I just started riding again after about 6 years. I used to have a pretty solid leg and I could get my heels way down. I've always struggled with being a bit too far forward but now I feel like it's bad :eek: I can get in my base before the fence but feel pulled forward almost out of my tack after the fences and around the corners. What can I do to get more flexion in my ankles and a stronger base? Any tips for sitting up throughout the course. I'm 36 and feel like I've lost a lot of strength and flexibility. Well...it might also be because I've lost weight from 138ish to 105 ish depending on the day. So...strength exercises? Stretching? Help lol

AliCat
Nov. 12, 2011, 10:22 PM
You need to get some TITS. Until then, you will feel off balance and awkward. 6 years off is a long time, so of course you have lost some of the muscle memory and balance. It will come back with time.

I do core exercises at the gym, I lift weights, I run. None of it replaces TITS. I always thought that if I could work out enough, I could offset the fact that I was only riding one day a week. Now that I started a lease I can feel a huge difference in my horse and my riding.

Time In The Saddle!

Minipony75
Nov. 13, 2011, 12:39 AM
Lmao!! I was thinking I already have Tits...bought them last Christmas. I was thinking that was the solution. No quick fixes :( thank you for the reply.

AliCat
Nov. 13, 2011, 12:42 AM
Lmao!! I was thinking I already have Tits...bought them last Christmas. I was thinking that was the solution. No quick fixes :( thank you for the reply.

In that case, make sure you have a good, supportive sports bra. It made a HUGE difference in my balance and timing when jumping.

Ray
Nov. 13, 2011, 07:58 AM
I dont disagree with Alicat at all, BUT:

1) PILATES. more core strength will help you