PDA

View Full Version : Trainer or coach? William Micklem COTH article

vineyridge
Nov. 9, 2011, 01:40 PM
It's just been posted on the Chronicle Website here:
http://www.chronofhorse.com/article/its-not-all-about-you-coach

He speaks from experience as he is a Fellow of the British Horse Society.

One point that he made is that the goal of coaching is to render the student independent. Not to keep them in leading strings forever. I've known trainers who are so insecure that independence by their students seems to attack the very basis of their psyches.

People train horses; I rather like the idea that what our teachers should do is coach.

Your thoughts?

justathought
Nov. 9, 2011, 02:18 PM
Great column... and so true. Another grea quote about teaching....

“I've come to the frightening conclusioin that I am the decisive element in the classroom. It's my daily mood that makes the weather. As a teacher, I possess a tremendous power to make a child's life miserable or joyous. I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration. I can humiliate or humor, hurt or heal. In all situations, it is my response that decides whether a crisis will be escalated or de-escalated and a child humanized or de-humanized.” and

Differentiate between acceptance and approval.

Ginott offers these suggestions:

Don't invite dependence
Don't hurry to correct facts.
Don't violate his privacy.
Avoid clichés and preaching.
Don't talk in chapters.
Don't label him.
Don't use reverse psychology.
Don't send contradictory messages.
Don't futurize.

"Concerned adults serve best when with confidence they stand and wait."

Dr. Haim Ginott

Those who inspire and guide rather than demand and dictate teach independence, achievement and confidence and these gifts last beyond a lifetime.

Dinah-do
Nov. 9, 2011, 02:36 PM
Timely.

juststartingout
Nov. 10, 2011, 12:56 PM
Just read this article ... very surprised it has not generated more discussion

William Ireland
Nov. 13, 2011, 02:20 PM