PDA

View Full Version : Do I *really* need to buy a new helmet to fit my hair?

overthemoon
Nov. 3, 2011, 06:43 PM
So, I have a lot a hair. This isn't news... I've been blessed/cursed with very thick hair my whole life. However, I haven't had it as long as it is now in a very long time. It no longer fits comfortably under my helmet, so when I ride now I have to have it down my back.

Here are the problems:
1) I like my long hair. Quite a lot. People tell me I have mermaid hair.
2) While I don't mind rocking a ponytail at home, it's not quite show attire.
3) I'm a student, and I really don't fancy spending $200-$400 on a new helmet to tame my mane.

Please tell me one of you has some ingenious idea for how to contain excessive amounts of hair that's tasteful enough to be rocked in the show ring...

Tap2Tango
Nov. 3, 2011, 06:50 PM
Do you do the traditional hunter hair? If so, try doing it with wet hair. I notice a difference if my hair is wet or dry, curly or straight, frizzy or not-as-frizzy-as-usual. Just play around with it.

danceronice
Nov. 3, 2011, 06:50 PM
Um...well, if you don't want to wear it down and it's not fitting under your current helmet, your options are a dressage bun (I'm not sure how well that would work if you have really thick curly/wavy hair, which is what 'mermaid hair' makes me think of, anyway) or buying a helmet it fits under. If you are REALLY good at getting it into a bun and REALLY restraining it that can look tasteful if "nontraditional" :rolleyes: but if you want it up under the helmet and it really won't squish down...well, um, find a cheaper helmet brand?

pattnic
Nov. 3, 2011, 06:51 PM
Have you tried using a flat iron on it to reduce volume, and then putting it up under your helmet?

danceronice
Nov. 3, 2011, 06:53 PM
Another thing besides really wetting it down--using a styling gel (firm hold) while it's wet would keep it flat. Though if by "mermaid" you mean really curly that still might not work....

overthemoon