PDA

View Full Version : Tips to keep my rear.......

mzw297
Oct. 28, 2011, 08:56 PM
I need some help.

Background:
I have been riding consistently for the last few months (for the first time in years). My background is in the hunter ring and i dabbled in eventing for a bit and then had to gradute from college and get a job, and didnt have the ability to financially support a horse. Fast forward 7 years and i am back in the saddle, hurrah!!

Situation:
Its important to note that I am fortunate enough to be leasing a fabulous schoolmaster who is perfect for a rerider ammy. I love and trust this horse with every fiber in my body.
This amazing horse is getting me comfortable in the 2'6 this year and I am hoping to be back in the adults next season.

BUT... For whatever reason I am apparently not keeping my hind parts out of the saddle for long enough over fences. I really do feel like I am staying out of the saddle, but the feedback from my trainer is that I need to stay out a bit longer.

Does anyone or has anyone had this trouble before? What did you do to help fix this? I am getting a video of our last show so I can see what I am not feeling.... I need to get this fixed before I move back up to 3'0.

Please help a rerider ammy who can't keep her a$$ out of the saddle!!! :winkgrin:

Ponyclubrocks
Oct. 28, 2011, 10:00 PM
Couple of quick exercises:

Grid work with multiple bounces, can be cross rails, just requires you to stay up out of the saddle, work up to five in a row...

Exercise where you hold your release for one or two strides after the fence. staying in release position may help keep you up longer.

Also ensure your stirrup length is not too long...do you ride with a different length for flat versus jumping? If not try going up a whole hole for jumping.

Good luck

doublesstable
Oct. 28, 2011, 10:03 PM
What helped me was a new saddle.... I don't know if what you are riding in really fits you and the horse but makes a huge difference.

bits619