PDA

View Full Version : Young People Entering the Horse Industry

Atypical
Oct. 27, 2011, 04:07 PM
So, discussion.

I constantly see on this board, young people wanting to get into the horse industry as a career, as a trainer, or barn manager or... whatever. And almost instantly on this board there is an immediate barage of posts, going, "don't bother, it's too hard, horses are a luxury. Go to college, get a 'real' career. Welcome to the real world..." I find this attitude vexing. Presumably, you all saying these things employ trainers, and breeders, and barn managers. Do you find these careers unnecessary, or simply look down on their choices?

So, who all should be entering the horse industry?? The industry NEEDS a steady influx of new, young blood.

I knew what I was doing when I decided I wanted to train for a living. I knew it was never going to be a hugely high paying career. And thanks, I'm not exactly without options. I graduated with a business degree. I did the 'right' thing for a while, had the 'right' jobs, and you know what? I was miserable. I had money for my horses, but no time or energy. Now, I am by no means swimming in money, but I'm smart about my finances. I have insurance, professional and health. I have no problem paying my bills. I have two horses I can comfortably afford. And I LOVE what I do. Yes, I work longer/harder than the average person, but I can't fathom doing anything else.

I'm not saying make horses your career on a whim, know what you're getting into. But it feels like on this board the general consensus is that it's the wrong choice, period.

justathought
Oct. 27, 2011, 04:24 PM
Great post! Thanks

Rel6
Oct. 27, 2011, 04:30 PM
I think the attitude about staying away from the horse industry stems from the people who come on here and post about wanting to enter it.