PDA

View Full Version : Socal training suggestions??

little brown mare
Oct. 18, 2011, 01:56 PM
Hi Everyone,
I am moving soon and I need trainer suggestions in the LA/Ventura area. My horse is going to need some remedial work on bit acceptance. I am new to dressage myself and I know I am not helping her any! I am familar with the area and with the traffic, not fussed about a long drive if the training is worth it.

INoMrEd
Oct. 18, 2011, 02:53 PM
I sent you a PM....

TheHorseProblem
Oct. 18, 2011, 03:12 PM
I sent one also.

little brown mare
Oct. 18, 2011, 11:09 PM
Thanks for the PMs! Anyone have any suggestions in the moorpark/somis area?

TheHorseProblem
Oct. 18, 2011, 11:34 PM
Thanks for the PMs! Anyone have any suggestions in the moorpark/somis area?

Hilda Gurney is up there. Check out Spirit Equestrian, El Sueno, and White Birch. There is no shortage of talented trainers in that area. I have only personally taken lessons from the German guy at Spirit, and the others are facilities where I have attended clinics that might be good places to start.

Maybe be more specific about what you need and you'll get more suggestions. Good luck! I wish I lived up there!

Jan Ebeling is in that area, Ludger Thole...so many.:)

candico
Oct. 19, 2011, 11:20 AM
Charlie Pinneo has a great reputation for being Adult Ammie friendly. Many choices here, so will depend on what kind of fit you are looking for. Best to arrange to meet a few and observe some lessons and training sessions. Or maybe go to a DASC show so you can see a few trainers all at once, plus clients... Also, the boarding situations for each trainer can range quite a bit as far as price, care, etc.

Lostboy
Oct. 20, 2011, 03:17 PM
I like Marie Meyers..in moorpark.. their horse Bigtyme did ok in recent Pan Am.. she is super nice and knowledgeable

SBrentnall
Oct. 21, 2011, 01:59 PM