PDA

View Full Version : Buying a horse at auction/importing foals

RedmondDressage
Sep. 28, 2011, 03:10 PM
Hi All - I've been drooling over the catalog for the 125th Hanoverian Elite Auction (http://www.hannoveraner.com/2597.html)and while I can't think about another horse right this minute I'm tossing around the idea of picking up a prospect over the next year or so. I'm curious if any of you have purchased a horse through a similar auction and what your experience was? What is the process for bidding from the US, do you have an agent bidding on your behalf at the auction? I have no experience with purchasing a horse this way so I'm just curious about the ins and outs. I do know a woman here who purchases from the European auctions regularly and am hoping to chat with her at a clinic this weekend but I would love others' experiences as well!

I was originally looking at 3 and 4 year olds but I'm seeing some weanlings at this auction that I'm interested in as well. I figure I'm pretty young, I've got a solid upper level horse, and I've got the set up at home to have a baby again... It would be as good a time as any to take a gamble so I'm kind of tossing around the idea. It could be a fun project! I don't know much about the process of importing a baby though. I assume the cost of shipping itself is the same as an older horse... What is the quarantine process on a foal? I would likely pick up a colt as I'm not much of a mare person. Can any of you who have imported a baby shed light on the process?

RedMare01
Sep. 28, 2011, 03:32 PM
I have not, but know people that have. Quarantine on a horse under two (or a gelding) is only a few days. Over two years of age (mare or stallion) is around a month and much more expensive. IIRC, depending on the exchange rate, it's probably $6-8K for import + quarantine on an under two, and ~$10-12K for a mare or stallion.