PDA

View Full Version : Eventing/jumping instructors in Maryland?

kitten_Val
Aug. 30, 2011, 04:44 PM
Any suggestions/recommendations? Yes, I know there is a list in Equiery, but I always go with personal references. :)

I'm almost total beginner in jumping as well as my horse, so looking for one tolerant enough towards such teams and who would be able to teach us both from ground zero (doesn't need to be sugar-coated, I really prefer someone honest and straight).

CiegoStar
Aug. 30, 2011, 05:02 PM
There are many options and lots of COTHers who will pipe up with their faves. Where are you located, and do you want a trainer who will come to you or will you trailer in?

scubed
Aug. 30, 2011, 05:13 PM
Maryland may not be that big, but it covers a lot of ground. Also makes a difference if you can trailer in or want someone who will come to you. Some options:

Sally Cousins www.sallycousins.com (not based in Maryland, but teaches at a couple of Maryland Farms pretty regularly)

Kate Chadderton www.katechadderton.com (does a Wednesday evening schooling over courses workshop as well as regular lessons)

Danny Warrington www.dannywarrington.com

Waredaca, www.waredaca.com

Mogie Bearden-Muller http://foxhilleventing.com/default.aspx

Colleen Rutledge http://colleenrutledgeeventing.com/

Tom Waters http://www.bennettscreekfarm.com/

Courtney Sendak http://www.defyinggravityeventing.com/Home.html (based out of Julia Wendell's Farm, where Julia also teaches and Sally Cousins comes in periodically)

Highflyer
Aug. 30, 2011, 05:44 PM
Ditto Sally, but it really depends where you are, too :)

BeverlyAStrauss
Aug. 30, 2011, 07:58 PM
Lots of great choices- may I also add Sally Shirley (sallyshirley.com) and Steuart Pittman (Dodonfarm.com)- both are professional, knowledgeable, kind, and lots of fun!

teddygirl
Aug. 30, 2011, 08:13 PM
There are tons, where are you? Do you wanna trailer or have someone come in?

Duckz
Aug. 30, 2011, 08:42 PM