PDA

View Full Version : Dead Chicken Assistance

TuxWink
Aug. 16, 2011, 11:35 PM
Okay, I went out to put my chickens away and my Wanda was dead. She was laying up against the fence, looking like she had just taken a dirt bath and fallen over. No signs of foul play (blood, etc.) and she seemed normal at breakfast time. The other two chickens seem totally fine.

Of course my husband is at a work dinner, so the disposal fell to me as it is getting dark and I didn't want a possum to get her. I put her in a plastic bag and in a box and she is sitting on the patio.

I'm a newbie when it comes to chickens. I got these three as chicks a little over two years ago.

When I told my husband, he said he noticed the feathers around her neck were a little dull and that her comb seemed droopy the past week or so. (I didn't notice this.) She was eating and acting normal as of this morning when I let the three out of the coop and gave them breakfast.

So, what should I do? Does it sound like she had a disease and should I be concerned that the other chickens have it? We've been eating their eggs!

Do I call animal control or dead animal pick up?

Do I just dispose of her in the trash - tomorrow is trash day? (I can't bury her on my property - I have two big dogs that will dig her up :0 )

Do I take her to a vet for an autopsy?

I live in the middle of the city and although chickens are legal per the city code, they are very uncommon and I don't exactly want to draw too much attention to my little flock.

So, information and suggestions are highly appreciated.

Alagirl
Aug. 16, 2011, 11:39 PM
ah, rest in peace little birdy :(

It's probably frowned upon to bury dead animals in the yard I am guessing a chicken would not be much of a problem. a big rock on top should keep the dogs out well enough.

but the experts in terms of chicken should be on soon.

danceronice
Aug. 17, 2011, 12:09 AM