PDA

View Full Version : Suppleness Questions

4wdNstraight
Aug. 15, 2011, 07:05 PM
I have an ex Prelim event horse that is an off breed (LU/TB QH). I switched to dressage when I felt I reached the end of his scope jumping as he was hard to get to a good distance repeatedly. Anyway, I've been riding dressage for a few years and have been showing at 3rd for my second year as I had a baby in Jan so only one show last weekend this year. I have good instruction, but can only lesson a few times a month due to the baby and that my horses live at home. Last year when I showed I was lacking the 3rd level balance. I have been working on that, and now judges say it is appropriate for the level, but I need more suppleness. My horse has a hard time keeping his neck long, and I have also fixed that, but when I start to work on suppleness, he gets tight in his neck, but feels better through the back. Ok, so long story short, does anyone have any great exercises or ways to increase suppleness without shortening the neck? He is very willing and forward, and the judges do like him. But he can get tense and can be tricky to keep through. Also, this can manifest in the changes by a pre-hop step then the change which is quite expressive. Its' like he backs off for a step. If we can sort this out 4th level should be right there as the canter piros are easy for him. Also, he anticipates the changes badly thanks to the jumping and that degrades the quality of the change. I did get and 8 this weekend on my left to right change which is the hardest for us, but then got a 5 on our better side. Argh! Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Dave Thind
Aug. 16, 2011, 12:43 PM
By your screen name, I can see that you are well aware of classical ideology. Therefore, I would like to suggest that you revisit your understanding of the training scale and it’s implications in the warm-up phase as well as the question at hand.