PDA

View Full Version : Paste Dewormed the Chickens

ThisTooShallPass
Aug. 13, 2011, 12:16 AM
Who cares how they feel about the experience, I am traumatized! Now my neck has a terrible crick in it too. Rooster was going to protect his hens to the death-his or mine. So the stock dog jumped in to defend me. That lead to chickens everywhere, as in shear panic, as some squeezed out past the neighbor boy in FFA that was manning the gate. Next time it will be a midnight stealth mission, where I grab & bag the rooster first.

Murphy's Mom
Aug. 13, 2011, 05:34 PM
Chickens need to be dewormed? Crap. This is my first year with chickens. Can't you just put some powder stuff in with their feed?

You mentioning being traumatized reminds me....I've got five goats that need their feet trimmed. <sigh> It was a good day until I remembered that. :lol:

JSwan
Aug. 13, 2011, 06:08 PM
First rule in chicken keeping.

Always torture them at night.

Goats are a lost cause. You are screwed.

Ghazzu
Aug. 13, 2011, 08:34 PM
Foot trimming on goats is a piece of cake. Even my non-farm type students get proficient quickly.

ThisTooShallPass
Aug. 13, 2011, 08:42 PM
:lol: Traumatized I was, I tell ya I was traumatized! Funny as heck now. :lol: Other than my neck is still cricked up.

They can end up with roundworm IN th egg, amongst other worm issues elsewhere in their body.

The rooster was still wearing paste this morning.

It appears they do not hold grudges as they all ran over for breakfast.

Next deworming will be under the wing. So, dead of night grab & bag it will be! As this old body just cannot go thru THAT again. :lol:

ThisTooShallPass
Aug. 13, 2011, 08:43 PM
Ghazzu is this where I say liar liar pants on fire, or that you crack me up? :lol: :D :lol:

Somermist
Aug. 13, 2011, 09:13 PM
Ghazzu is this where I say liar liar pants on fire, or that you crack me up? :lol: :D :lol:

:lol::winkgrin::lol:

birdsong
Aug. 13, 2011, 09:28 PM