PDA

View Full Version : Training aids or no

dressagefan62
Aug. 12, 2011, 07:06 AM
Hi
I am new to the forum. I have been riding dressage for three years on my now 16 yo Arabian gelding. He was a country English horse who had never been very good at it but had a lot of show miles, very athletic and a willing heart. I have had to work hard with him to get him to stretch down into connection with several riding instructors. My first instructor had personal problems and quit on me. I loved my next instructor and she really helped Cody and I improve, a lot of circles, spirals and leg yields and he was coming down and really stretching and relaxing. We ended up moving and I finally have had a couple lessons, only one on Cody with a new instructor. She wants me to use a cotton sting ran between his legs and through his bit and then to the girth as side reins to bring his head down. She said he needs to build the muscles up more in his neck and back and this will help, but I am afraid he will not learn to come down without them. I thought most dressage people were against using training aids while riding and he really was improving with my old instructor and using just exercises -:confused: What do you all think?

SillyHorse
Aug. 12, 2011, 10:03 AM
I think it's rarely a good idea to force a horse's head into a position. A "gadget" (and I'm trying to be kind) like that will only back the horse off the bit because there is no release possible into a soft contact. Instead of encouraging him to stretch into the bit, it backs him off. I think your instincts are correct and I would encourage you to find a trainer who can help you without resorting to quick fixes.

Carol O
Aug. 12, 2011, 10:10 AM