PDA

View Full Version : New and some Conformation help please :)

fjording
Aug. 11, 2011, 08:32 PM
Hi!
I'm new.
I'm from Australia and have a Fjord gelding named Sammy.
I had a ginormous warmblood (18.1hh- BIG boy!) however I sold him a couple of weeks ago as he was just TOO big for me and he and I just did not click (awesome educated horse and taught me HEAPS but I didn't get along with him at all)

Anyway, I have been looking for another horse to buy for a bit now and being a student I have a verrrrry limited budget.
Basically I want something fairly young around the 4-7 mark (though not fresh from the breakers, that's a bit to green for me!). Not a TB, nothing against them they just aren't for me. And a stocky 14.2-15.2.
So being in a price range of under around $6000 I am limited and a lot of what I have to choose from are "diamonds in the rough" so to speak!

I would like some opinions on this mare, she is a 4 year old 15hh warmblood, by Carbine (this stallion - http://www.jaybeefarm.com.au/) I don't know what the dam was, though being only 15hh I don't think she was very big and unlikely a warmblood as Carbine babies are usually at least 16hh and the majority I have seen have been 17hh.

She is at my instructors place to be sold on. She has spent 6 months plodding around with a 12 year old. She hasn't done any "proper" work, which perhaps is why her neck is a bit icky? I am not very good with the finer points of conformation. I can MAJOR things, like the gross neck, slightly too long perhaps?

But I just want to know some realisitic opinions on this "diamond in the rough". I posted them on another forum I am on more regularly and no one would actually point out any conformation points, they were only saying I like her or I don't like her, they couldn't actually give me a reason as to WHY they did or didn't :-S