PDA

View Full Version : What do you do when a horse ignores your half-halts?

JCS
Aug. 1, 2011, 10:20 AM
Granted, I'm a relative newbie at dressage. But I thought I'd see if anyone has advice. Books and training advice tend to be written as if the horse has perfect behavior and will respond correctly if the rider uses the right aids. But what do you--personally--do if you're riding a hot, strong horse who wants to trottrottrot super fast (my trainer calls it his powerhouse trot) and totally blows off your half-halts?

I'm having trouble here because when trainer gets on, he's good for her. When it's me, he blows me off. So she can't really "fix" the problem, since she doesn't have it when she rides. It's very frustrating to ride him when he's like this--I can't do anything with him.

cuatx55
Aug. 1, 2011, 10:45 AM
Don't let the horse pick the speed----Halt the horse, then begin again. Supple the horse using figures, post slower, and get the horse listening by using leg yields. HH don't just magically appear, they take practice and timing. Use full transitions to assist you in learning the proper leg to hand ratio, then that becomes your HH when you give a lighter version of the "halt" aid....Think of it as rebalancing the horse rather then slowing.

Transitions/HH are I think the hardest thing to learn (if you do them PROPERLY). Finesse the transition so the horse stays up in the shoulder---leg leg leg, don't halt if the horse is pulling/leaning or throwing a tantrum. If it takes 10 steps that is OK. Just push the horse back to the walk or trot and ask for the halt again. Use what you learned about your horse to make this the eventual HH.

YOU need to have a plan, work the plan. Don't get mad, just keep asking. Make sure you are receiving the energy in your hands and seat, don't block the horse.

Hope this helps!

AllWeatherGal
Aug. 1, 2011, 10:47 AM
I don't mean to sound flip, but fix YOUR half-halts.