PDA

View Full Version : What does it take to get a tb trainer's license?

sonomacounty
Jul. 31, 2011, 07:11 PM
What does it take to get a tb trainer's license?

I'm a licensed sb trainer, (but non-practicing). I'm just wondering what is involved in getting a tb trainers license?

Tx.
Sonoma

mintano
Jul. 31, 2011, 07:55 PM
Talk to the stewards, barn test, then a written test.

tuppysmom
Jul. 31, 2011, 11:31 PM
may have a written test for you to take, then there is often a practical barn test, finger printing and all that jazz.

Laurierace
Aug. 1, 2011, 12:13 AM
I took two written tests and one barn test and but most importantly I had to work under a licensed trainer for two years and get three letters of recommendation before applying to test.

Dahoss
Aug. 1, 2011, 01:20 PM
Taking the test today is like night and day compared to when I first got mine in 1991 and before that, my asst trainers license in 88. Also had a vet tech license in 86/87.

Today you can fail and still get your license at some tracks. Hell, I know one guy last year who never even took a test. Just walked in, filled out the trainers application and walked out with his brand new trainers license. The guy had been in the business less then a year, was a transport driver and clueless. And he is still clueless.

Xctrygirl
Aug. 1, 2011, 01:30 PM
I did the same as Laurie (B/c it was the same state) and interestingly I was only applying to be an assistant. But Maryland decided (In one of it's better ideas imho) to test the bejezus out of the Assistants as well, so that if/when I want to upgrade to be a full trainer, all I have to do is show them a current workmans comp policy and a horse's papers that I have in training. And voila...trainer.