PDA

View Full Version : The woes of tight hips...(new vids post 71 - be gentle lol!)

Reddfox
Jul. 26, 2011, 10:55 PM
Through much discussion - I have come to realize that my long torso is not the issue and it is in fact, my tight hips and lower back that are the main culprits. Thanks COTHers for the sharp eyes and great advice!
--
Hi, I'm a dressage rider and I have a long torso. I have been working tirelessly on my position for 2 years now (before that, I rode H/J.) I have made a lot of progress with my teacher and his fantastic school horses. I have even "graduated" to riding his Andalusian stallion in lessons. I have gone from "the worst tummy trot" that my trainer has ever seen, to learning how to collect from my seat and back and I have been playing with passage and learning canter pirouettes and tempis.

However, I still collapse in my back, especially in the canter. I envy short torsoed riders and their strong backs. They look so elegant. Am I doomed to always appear a bit loose in the sitting trot? I'm together, I'm effective- and I wouldn't be able to effectively ask for passage if I wasn't using my back correctly, yet in videos- there always appears to be more movement than I want.

In the canter, I have come a long way in retraining the hunter perch. I can sit tall, I can collect from my seat and back, yet invariably- I give... Just a little bit, just below my rib cage. And every time, that Cadillac of a stallion leans on me and the work goes to hell. I can regroup, I can fix it... But I can't stop it yet.

At this level, it's tiny nuances that make a difference, and I want to lick this giving in the back in a bad way.

So, fellow long-torsoed COTHers, how have you strengthened your back and taught yourself not to give in that spot just below your ribs? Core strength is not an issue for me... I'm almost too strong and it counter-acts my back muscles. Are there targeted excercises to help over come this less than ideal rider conformation?? Help! :lol: