PDA

View Full Version : Cross Country Tips!

NSRider
Jul. 25, 2011, 04:33 PM
I'm new to the eventing world (and this board!) and I completed my first event this past weekend. It was FANTASTIC! Had a ball, met some lovely people, had good rides, and learned a lot.

I'm quite comfortable in the dressage ring, and fine with the stadium jumping phase. I love cross-country, but whenever I go out my riding just falls apart. Does anyone have any tips or tricks they've used that helped them out?

Thanks!

retreadeventer
Jul. 25, 2011, 04:42 PM
NS Rider, not sure where you are located, but the biggest and most important cross-country riding tip I think I could give you would be to Educate Yourself.

Go to Amazon.com, or your local tack shop, or Bit of Britain's online catalog (among others) and get a few good DVD's and books on cross country riding and jumping by such experts as James Wofford, Andrew Hoy, Andrew Nicholson, Mary King, The O'Connors have good dvd, and there's loads more. I personally go back again and again to Lucinda Green (prior-palmer)'s book on Cross-Country Riding. She is a master...which leads me to my next suggestion....

Make certain you find out in your area where and when the clinics with upper level riders and instructors, such as ICP instructors of Level II or above, are being held. Then make SURE you clear your calendar to AUDIT or if you can afford it, RIDE in them. The instruction you get from a master rider, or clinician of a top standard will be life-changing and amazing. I promise! Do not feel just because you are just starting that you will not be welcomed or won't learn anything. Au contrare!

A two day clinic with someone like Boyd Martin, Lucinda Green, Phillip Dutton, Karen or David O'Connor, and I don't mean to leave anyone out but there are many very good top riders teaching today, is going to change your riding and make you really understand and enjoy the cross-country, so that's what I'd recommend!