PDA

View Full Version : working student

Darcy wants a new career
Jul. 21, 2011, 03:40 PM
Hi. My name is Darcy and I am looking for a job as a working student. If anyone could give me advice or help me out I'd be grateful. I have an older schoolmaster type oldenberg gelding who has done alot of eventing up to preliminary level. I bought him so that I could learn eventing as it is something I have always wanted to do. I live in las vegas and we do not have any eventing here, or many people interested in it. I am a realtor currently here in vegas. I am not happy working lots of hours so that I can have a horse and show and take lessons. I was helping a friend last year part time as a quasi-working student who has many years in the eventing world and was a great teacher. Unfortunately she suffered a major stroke and a ruptured aneurysm, she was in a coma and is making a slow recovery. She will not be able to teach again for a long time. I have decided to pursue a career in horses. I have spent my entire life trying to live up to the great expectation of a fancy house and lots of money. I have not been happy. I have always loved horses and would rather be broke and happy than miserable with a pile of money. I have always had my horses on my property and taken care of them myself since I was 9yrs old and my parents got me my first pony. I am a very competent person and have been self employed the majority of my life. I am fascinated by all thing medical and am well read on nutrition, equine disease, wound and injury care and prevention. I am not an accomplished trainer or rider but I try, listen and am extremely motivated and determined. I raised one little quarter horse from a baby, taught her to lead, pull a cart. do tricks and ride. I made alot of mistakes but I learned from them. I also had a beautiful wacked out ottb that I got with no training other that track training. He had alot of old injuries and was very accident prone. but I did teach him basic dressage and