PDA

View Full Version : Embarrassing Lead Problem

lawchick
Jul. 18, 2011, 06:00 PM
Okay, although I've been riding dressage for the last 18 months or so, I've been riding horses most of my life. Topaz is probably the 6th horse I've owened. We're showing training level and doing well and schooling first level.

My embarrasing problem is that I'm having a heck of a time telling when he's picked up the incorrect lead (he prefers the left lead and it's not physical--already did full vet work up).

He has a very flat canter and not much reach in the shoulders. I'm working on this but I need to be able to correct him quickly if he takes the wrong lead not to mention wanting to start some counter-canter work.

I've never had this problem with any other horse but I suspect that I've had horses that don't have lead issues and have bouncy canters.

Even looking at his shoulders doesn't always help. I work regularly with great trainers but I'm just struggling with this and they can't figure out why I'm having such a mental block.

Ideas or suggestions?

rizzodm
Jul. 18, 2011, 06:07 PM
Whatever lead your horse is on you will feel your leg on that side move a little more forward in the saddle.

thatsnotme
Jul. 18, 2011, 06:08 PM
If you can't easily see it in the front, have someone work you on a lunge (if he's very trustworthy and you feel safe, try to close your eyes, if not, just really concentrate). Have your ground person tell you what lead he's on and try to feel it from the hind leg, rather than the front. The hind will have more bounce and thrust and is actually easier to feel, most people just learn it from looking down at the shoulder. Once you've figured out what it feels like from behind, you will be able to feel it on your own.

angel
Jul. 18, 2011, 07:07 PM