PDA

View Full Version : Pedigree Help?

azdreamride
Jul. 17, 2011, 04:20 PM
Hello, I recently saved an OTTB he is now 17.

I was able to read his tattoo and get his racing record, but I am a newbie @ reading a pedigree-- could anyone give opinions...
good, bad, ugly etc. on what his pedigree looks like-- what are the horses from these lines like etc.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

here is a link--hopefully it works.
http://www.equineline.com/Free-5X-Pedigree.cfm?page_state=ORDER_AND_CONFIRM&reference_number=1451818

Thanks
Summer

danceronice
Jul. 17, 2011, 09:03 PM
This is Tejon, a 1994 model? (Making sure the link went to the right horse.)

As for pedigree, depends on what you want to do with him. My only guess without knowing that is with inbreeding to Bold Ruler and Nasrullah both, he's probably got a mind of his own..

azdreamride
Jul. 17, 2011, 10:18 PM
I just got him, and right now he is starving and in pretty bad condition, but I could see how he would have a mind of his own-- even with being weak and malnourished-- he still is pretty opinionated. Right now I have no plans for him-- his history is pretty unknown after he left the track, but he appears to either be accident prone or to have had a hard life-- He has old scars everywhere. Just was wondering if anyone had insight into what personality traits his ped. leans towards.

thanks!

gumtree
Jul. 18, 2011, 08:51 PM
The free 5X only gives the family names. Not the family pedigree per se (link did not work). If it is not an obscure family I maybe able to give you some insight. If you what to see his detailed pedigree that will cost you around $15. This will give you complete race records and breeding records of his half/full sisters and the rest of the family going back several generations.

danceronice
Jul. 18, 2011, 11:20 PM