PDA

View Full Version : Has anyone bought a 7yo claimer?

dainty do
Jul. 12, 2011, 11:56 PM
Recently, a saw a beautiful gelding (a 7yo) in a 4000 claiming race. He seemed to be a high class horse, and had won almost $100,000, but was stepping down in class. Why? Would it be soundness or age?
I have no experience claiming horses, but am intrigued.
Thanks

Slewdledo
Jul. 13, 2011, 12:22 AM
You have to run them where they can win.

Acertainsmile
Jul. 13, 2011, 08:44 AM
Yes, we have...depends on the horse of course. Nothing better than an "older" horse with class, even if they have slowed down a little. Usually they know how to take care of themselves, and know how to win. An older horse will come with some maintenace issues, (but in most cases they all do anyway).

caffeinated
Jul. 13, 2011, 09:56 AM
Recently, a saw a beautiful gelding (a 7yo) in a 4000 claiming race. He seemed to be a high class horse, and had won almost $100,000, but was stepping down in class. Why? Would it be soundness or age?

Could be the horse has lost a bit of speed with age, and is just no longer competitive in the better ranks, but is still a decent, sound racehorse.

Could be the horse really needs to be done with racing, but the owners don't really care and want to milk every last dime out of the horse.

Could be the horse actually has some soundness problems, so they dropped in class, gave him some cortisone, and got him entered in hopes someone would claim him and it would no longer be their problem.