PDA

View Full Version : Riding with one stirrup longer than the other. A sign of rider crookedness?

mrs.smith
Jul. 12, 2011, 04:47 PM
Another post got me thinking about my riding position. For years, I've always ridden with my right stirrup one hole longer than the left. I've done this no matter what type of saddle, western, dressage or close contact. I've always dismissed this as my right leg being longer than my left (possible, as I have mild scoliosis. However, it also could be that I ride crooked to that side.

My dressage instructor has never mentioned me being crooked, but it is a possibility (I am somewhat new to dressage). Does anyone else ride with uneven stirrups, or anyone used to and has found a good exercise to correct this?

Equibrit
Jul. 12, 2011, 05:00 PM
I once was a demonstration rider for a USDF Instructors clinic. I cleaned my saddle the night before and left one stirrup leather about 5" longer than the other. Was rushed in to the ring without a chance to make the adjustment, so just left it, and was expecting somebody to notice. Nobody did.

Give and Take
Jul. 12, 2011, 05:00 PM
i ride with my right a half hole longer so i keep my weight in my stirrups more evenly. lots of scar tissue around my right ankle left me feeling like my right knee was way higher.

having your weight even is more important, imo, and being adept at moving it evenly from side to side.

horses mirror so much of our crookedness...

stryder
Jul. 12, 2011, 05:14 PM
My stirrups are uneven, but I don't think I'm crooked. One hip is stickier than the other and so that leg doesn't drape as well. And I don't have any trouble riding without stirrups, so I don't think my weight is uneven, either.

yaya
Jul. 12, 2011, 10:46 PM