PDA

View Full Version : Introducing Freestyle music, having trouble adjusting, please help!

ArabDiva
Jul. 12, 2011, 10:04 AM
I am in the beginning stages of producing my first freestyle (first level) with my horse. I was a musician (majored in violin in college) long before I was an equestrian, so the chance to combine my two passions is pretty fun.

Before choosing music, I painstakingly measured the BPM of my mare's gaits, over the course of several workouts on a couple of different footings. Then I chose music which I feel matches her attitude, her movement, and it fits the speed of her gaits. I am going with somewhat of a spanish/tango/flamenco theme because she has a very Baroque build and movement. I have one song for trot and another for walk/canter (it starts bold, then quiets down, then gets bold again, which I thought would be perfect for some walk/free walk and back to canter). I spliced the two songs together at appropriate points using GarageBand, then last night we took it out for a test run for the first time.

We warmed up first without it, did some transition exercises and practiced shoulder-in, and she was having a good day. Then I turned the music on and things seemed to go downhill. She was much quicker and tighter, very rushy and pretty tense. Our tempo was all off and not at all with the music. It was a bit disappointing, to say the least. After the first couple of minutes I gave up trying to think about the music and just worked on getting her/us to relax and concentrate while the music was going. We rode for about 20-30 minutes with our song just looping, and by the end we were not entirely put together but doing better.