PDA

View Full Version : Question about mares in heat

seeuatx
Jul. 3, 2011, 09:01 PM
No one laugh... please, I am begging you. I'm pretty new to the owning (or is that being owned by) a mare.

Do mares sometimes get "cramps" or show a touch of back soreness during hear cycles? If it is something symptomatic with cycles, does it help to add a gram of bute around that time?

It has not shown in the other 2 cycles since I bought her, but all the other symptoms heat were there today, so I am trying to rule out heat before I call the chiro and see if it isn't something I can plan for before it's a problem.

nextyear
Jul. 3, 2011, 09:13 PM
I have had a few mares over the years that do show signs of "cramping" during the cycle, most of the time it was in early spring when they showed the stongest sign, and a couple of the mares also had small bouts of colic with the cycle. We always did banamine but sak vet what they think, also with one mare acupunture helped the most.

lucyeq
Jul. 3, 2011, 09:30 PM
Regumate, Regumate, Regumate if you can. It helped my mare a lot.

D Taylor
Jul. 3, 2011, 10:15 PM
Yes...just like us ladies when the hormones start changing a whole host of other less than wonderful things can happen.

I started using red raspberry leaves this spring. Have one mare that is a shameless tart and another that can (not always...but can) get grumpy during heats. Well 3 wks later Flirt (the shameless tart) stopped chasing the barncats around to show and Echo (the grumpier one) stopped being so moody too. Normally I take "patients" off such herbals 2 or 3 times to see if the undesirable behaviors return but no way am I going back the past. Life is just a little kinder to them and EVERYONE else too since they get the Rr leaves.

Even the hubby notice the difference.

seeuatx
Jul. 3, 2011, 11:29 PM