PDA

View Full Version : The great saddle search

hrsmstr
Jun. 30, 2011, 04:44 PM
I am new to the CHOS forum. I am currently looking for a used dressage saddle. I am not a competitor, I just prefer riding in a dressage saddle. I'm having a problem finding a saddle that fits long legged, 5"8 me, and my leased horse, a 15.1 Arabian with medium withers and a short back. I have a rather limited budget, while I can afford more than a cheapo saddle, I cannot afford more than 800 dollars for a used one.
Would it be worth my while to have a saddle that fits me reflocked (or have some flocking removed) to fit the horse, or to use shims, as a saddle fitter has advised? The owner of my horse is a stickler for saddle fit, and I believe the same. I don't know if she'd allow me to pad and shim to make the saddle fit.
Currently I am riding him bareback as the only saddle that she has that fits him is a western saddle.
And can anyone tell me a brand that is known for fitting short backed horses?

Thank you!

Old Fashioned
Jun. 30, 2011, 04:50 PM
Niedersuss, Kieffer and Courbette fit many Arabians well and can fit the taller rider. I've found english made ones to generally be a little too tight through the shoulder for arabians and many german made saddles are too long front to back for the short backed horse.

skykingismybaby1
Jun. 30, 2011, 06:03 PM
My Schleese Link II is perfect for my short backed half arabian and my 5'8' self, but it may be hard to find with your budget. Check online. Not only is the Link shorter than most saddles it also has cutback shoulders which my guy loves

CoppersRider
Jun. 30, 2011, 07:28 PM
I'm 5'8-1/2" on a 15-2 morgan and use a Duett Fidelio, which I love. My horse has a short back and huge shoulders and is quite a challenge to fit. A used Fidelio should be right around your budget. You might want to take a look at Trumbull Mountain, they fit a lot of harder to fit guys and are extremely helpful.

esdressage
Jul. 1, 2011, 12:11 PM