PDA

View Full Version : Chaps on the inside of jeans?

peekarocks
Jun. 29, 2011, 06:43 AM
I currently work as an exercise rider at a steeplechase farm in Maryland - I ride in either paddock boots and halfchaps or leggings, but when I go to the track I see exercise riders wearing their chaps under their jeans. What's the reason for it?

keepthelegend
Jun. 29, 2011, 07:08 AM
Are you sure they are actual chaps and not just a wrap to act as a leg protector?

Acertainsmile
Jun. 29, 2011, 08:46 AM
I galloped horses mostly in Md for 30 yrs and have never seen anyone do that! Unless it's a new trend, it may be elastic leggings (like the jocks wear) under the jeans.

Seems chaps would be a wee bit uncomfortable worn under your clothes! :)

Right on Target
Jun. 29, 2011, 09:11 AM
I don't ride at the track, but on a few occassions I've put my half chaps under my jeans to prevent leg rubs. My jeans are too bulky at the bottom to fit under the half chaps.

I found no particular discomfort from wearing half chaps right against my skin. I do wear long socks under them though.

I think they're more comfortable than elastic socks.

Timex
Jun. 29, 2011, 10:03 AM
I've never seen that, I myself wear leggings and pant straps to avoid rubs when I'm galloping.

Blinkers On
Jun. 29, 2011, 04:17 PM
Tht would just be silliness...
I wear tube socks and leggings under my pants and chaps on top. I can't imagine "chaps" under my pants...

Blinkers On
Jun. 29, 2011, 04:18 PM
I galloped horses mostly in Md for 30 yrs and have never seen anyone do that! Unless it's a new trend, it may be elastic leggings (like the jocks wear) under the jeans.

Seems chaps would be a wee bit uncomfortable worn under your clothes! :)

Maybe chaps are the only clothes.. it'd be a BIG hit with the co workers....

Flypony
Jun. 29, 2011, 05:29 PM
I wear half chaps under my jeans with long socks. Lots of people do it here. half chaps over jeans looks goofy.

Blinkers On
Jun. 29, 2011, 07:21 PM
Yikes...and no thanks