PDA

View Full Version : Working Student and Amateur Rider Qualification?

sarah88
Jun. 23, 2011, 06:34 AM
Hey- Just wondering if I can still be considered an Amateur if I am a working Student? I make Zero money...in exchange for work I have board and lessons. I pay for my own housing. How does this (if at all) affect my amateur status? I found the rule a bit confusing to read through... Thanks!

Duckz
Jun. 23, 2011, 06:40 AM
Any payment, whether cash or in-kind, for teaching lessons or riding horses, will void your amateur status. If you're just doing barn work I think you're ok. If you're riding any horse other than your own, or if you're teaching any lessons, no amateur status.

Do a search in the hunter/jumper forum for long, intense threads on this topic ;) It's been hashed out multiple times over multiple pages.

Janet
Jun. 23, 2011, 08:15 AM
Horse board is considered remuneration.

So if you are riding, training, or teaching horses other than your own at the barn where you are a working student, you are no longer an amateur.

There have been at least two working students written up in the back of the magazine ( I forget if it was suspension or just a fine) for competing as amateurs when they had been riding other horses at the barn.

secretariat
Jun. 23, 2011, 01:11 PM
I believe there's a $$ threshold now, not just "any remuneration." $2K sticks in my mind, but it should be easy to find.

Highflyer
Jun. 23, 2011, 01:16 PM
I believe there's a $$ threshold now, not just "any remuneration." $2K sticks in my mind, but it should be easy to find.

Not anymore, nope.

Janet
Jun. 23, 2011, 01:26 PM
Not anymore. It was only for eventing and it lasted a year, maybe two.

ponysize
Jun. 23, 2011, 04:29 PM
Yep, the rule is across the board. Even though money isn't exchanging hands, you are still getting "paid" the equivalent value of your board and lessons to do those activities.