PDA

View Full Version : Changing Diagonals in a Dressage Test



woodrwo
Jun. 22, 2011, 09:17 PM
Not really sure why...but I have recently switched to changing the Trot diagonals standing, instead of sitting it. Seems to flow better for me lately.

Just curious, would it be incorrect to do this in a Dressage Test? Does is matter?

Kanga
Jun. 22, 2011, 10:42 PM
Done it this way for decades! Many outside the USA have always done it this way because it is better for the horse.

You are actually fine doing it in a dressage test!

deltawave
Jun. 22, 2011, 10:44 PM
I always stand to change diagonals. Seems a lot easier on both of us not to bounce on the horse's back more than necessary. :)

Aquila
Jun. 23, 2011, 01:29 AM
That's how I change diagonals, even during dressage tests, and no one has ever commented. I agree that it seems to flow better.

RiverBendPol
Jun. 23, 2011, 11:41 AM
Always.

Shrunk "N" Da Wash
Jun. 23, 2011, 01:15 PM
But when you sit trot you are are totally sitting so switching diagonals by sitting you certainly should be capable of doing it without flopping around and bouncing about... But I guess for some it might flow better. I can't see a dressage judge commenting.