PDA

View Full Version : Micklem Bridle- A Miracle for at least one horse

Pages : [1] 2

IFG
Jun. 20, 2011, 03:22 PM
To start, I have no connection with Rambo or Micklem.

After 10 years of posting here, I have to post a Eureka! moment in hopes that it will help someone else. I am not saying that everyone will have the same experience from the Micklem that my horse and I did, but in hopes that it will help someone, here is my story. Sorry that it is so long.

My retired (from competition) event horse is 19. He is an OTTB that was given to a young girl after 4 years on the track. He was gelded late and a handful. I was asked to work with him. I started riding him at 6, and I bought him at 8. In all that time, he has not been soft. I could not use my back for half halts and have a conversation through the reins because he would : hide behind the contact, grab the bit and run around the ring, or lean on the bit. His head was always carried very high, and I could not get him to come over his back. Even when I would try to work him on a long rein, he would prefer to go around with his head in the air. If I got his head down, he would hide behind the contact and shut down his gait. It was as though he was stuck. I could have forward, or I could have his head down, but not both, and not his head down and nose out. I could not get him to go long and low and relaxed. He would not even put his head down and bring his back up on the lunge line (with a standard lunge caveson). I tried lots of different bits. I tried a mechanical hackamore. We used a Nathe for dressage, a Happy Mouth Pessoa for XC, and a rubber Pelham to foxhunt. Recently, I have used a three ring Stubben E-Z control for trail riding. In all the time I have had him, he was always tense. Dressage has been a frustration, and even jumping could be frustrating because I did not have a soft half halt. I felt like he was frustrated too, but that he was guarding himself against getting hurt. Try as I might to figure o