PDA

View Full Version : First ride with BNT- nervous !

Snoball 1
Jun. 19, 2011, 08:28 PM
OK-I've ridden my whole life, newer to dressage. I have been riding with "known- upper level" trainer(s) for a few years, but this is going to be my first clinic ride with one who's "famous".

My trainer thinks my horse and I are ready, but my lack of self confidence is making me doubt our abilities. We are training solidly Second, showing First, but very limited amount of showing also....

Any one else get intimidated riding in front of a really big name clinician- thoughts, feelings, advice !

easyrider
Jun. 19, 2011, 09:54 PM
Don't think about riding "with" someone. You're taking a lesson, not giving a performance. Go to learn.

DutchDressageQueen
Jun. 19, 2011, 10:01 PM
Don't think about riding "with" someone. You're taking a lesson, not giving a performance. Go to learn.

Exactly. and so what if you make a mistake? are you gonna die? no! and who cares what some people think. You are there to learn and have a good time! you need to feel confident :)

You can do it!

joiedevie99
Jun. 19, 2011, 10:46 PM
If you don't make any mistakes, there will be no opportunities for the clinician to teach you!

TickleFight
Jun. 19, 2011, 11:01 PM
Try to remember that there is no reason to feel nervous... you are paying them to help you. Everybody had to start somewhere, and even though some trainers may act like they were born into the FEI, remember that they too were once a lowly student.

Also, work as hard as you can. Listen carefully to what you are told and do your best to follow instructions. Do not waste time. Combine this with a positive attitude and you will find that many trainers will genuinely do everything they can to help you meet your goals.

Bugs-n-Frodo
Jun. 19, 2011, 11:39 PM
If you chicken out, I'll go ahead and ride for ya. :winkgrin: