PDA

View Full Version : Struggle to move up

enjoytheride
Jun. 17, 2011, 11:14 PM
This is probably long and whiny.

I've been struggling to move up to BN for awhile. I've been doing Starter for about 2 years. I'm always clean but slow in stadium and XC.

I decided that this year is the year I was going to move up. I've been picking smaller BN events as a stepping stone.

I moved up to BN in May and was very nervous stadium so it was rough but my horse was great and we jumped clean. XC I had 4 stops but I had not jumped XC since last September and we jumped 18 inches then. XC was about 2' 3" with one or two 2' 6" fences. I felt like the mistakes were rider error and it was the first real time we galloped. I was really pleased.

I had another BN last week. The location of stadium was in a clearing in the woods, and it had rained so the grass was very long and wet. It was also pretty big. My horse went bonkers ran out twice, and I fell off. We were able to run XC over mostly 2 feet - 2 3" fences and ran double clear except I skipped a max size fence with brush that made it about 3 feet (nobody else liked it and someone who was with me suggested that my horse would clear it by 4 feet and that I might not want to do it, so I was easily persuaded).

Jumped our first ditch and bank. My horse has never stopped at a fence, and I really think the location and footing upset her. I've been really surprised at my confidence and my horse's confidence jumping XC. I came off XC both times feeling like I could jump the moon.

I had entered another show at BN in a few weeks. It's at a recognized facility with Max fences but for the last two years they brought in smaller fences and it was very easy. I could have jumped %75 of it with my skills last year. For the last two years there I went Starter and got a 3rd and a 4th jumping around clean in both.