PDA

View Full Version : Kinda bummed, going elem/intro again. *sigh* update

adragonwolf
Jun. 13, 2011, 12:52 AM
Ok, so kind of a whining post, but I got a fabulous new horse and due to his fitness level and mine my instructor said we should just do elem/intro. I am so bummed! I really wanted to have a go at beg/nov again but I have had the winter off and he had been in mothballs for awhile. To add to this, I am on medication that makes me heat sensitive and our first competition is in July (of course). He is wonderful and has competed up to intermediate but I only want to do beg/nov, hopefully at a recognized show next year. I know it's a doable goal, but I guess I feel like a complete newbie doing the baby level again. He is 17.3 hands, it will be like stepping over sticks with him. I want to be fair to him and make sure he is in shape and myself as well (I quite smoking 3 weeks ago, uggg!), so come on guys, kick my butt out of this pity party I'm having!:(

So, we did it! We came in 7th and here is the video of the dressage test, we scored 24.4. I am so proud to own this wonderful horse! Next year it's Woodside here we come!
http://youtu.be/d4MmQoj60Bw

FLeckenAwesome
Jun. 13, 2011, 04:21 AM
I hear yah... i've been talking about moving up to prelim, but life just kept getting in the way.. and now.. I'm still not sure if/when I'll do it. So I feel your frustration..

But it'll be okay. It might be HARDER to ride him over those little "sticks" than bigger jumps anyways ;) And... yep.. the fitness is a big deal. Especially in the summer... So... just vow to go out and PERFECT it :) And have fun!!

goodmorning
Jun. 13, 2011, 08:33 AM
I had a whine & wine party for myself last night....