View Full Version : Experience with for compression fracture @ T12

Jun. 12, 2011, 01:59 PM
I just sustained a mild compression fracture at T12 and am lucky to have no other injuries. I'm wondering if anyone can share their experiences of recovery -- how long until you got back in the saddle, exercises, advice, etc.

I've read through the other back injury threads I can find with the "search" function, but if anyone has anything new to add, I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance!

Jun. 12, 2011, 04:19 PM
I actually have this exact injury, except by the time my fracture was actually discovered, it had "set" somewhat incorrectly. I was a student at the time I sustained the injury and somewhat blindly trusted the health clinic I went to despite being in intense pain. The clinic did not suggest x-rays and I somewhat ignorantly did not follow-up at the time because I believed they knew what they were doing. I wish I had requested x-rays because I would have had more treatment options at the time; instead, the injury set on its own.
I don't remember when I got back in the saddle. At the time I was just riding in school, and the fall happened fairly close to the winter break. I was probably back riding in a few weeks, but I was in pretty intense pain for a while. Eventually the injury did set by itself, but I experienced a pretty severe flare up that summer and sought additional treatment (at a different clinic this time!). Apart from pain management, they recommended physical therapy. They were not keen on my continuing to ride, but I continued after another short break that summer. The physical therapy focused on strengthening my core in order to support my back. This is the best thing I can recommend from my own experience - seek out a consultation or research some physical therapy exercises you can do to really build the strength in your core and surrounding back muscles. That was actually what helped me the most.