View Full Version : Thorowgood demo?

Jun. 10, 2011, 10:37 AM
Does anyone know of a US shop which has Thorowgood Endurance saddle demos available? I've been using a borrowed Thorowgood dressage saddle for a few years. Although the owner is happy to see the saddle getting used and loved, I'm starting to feel a really guilty about putting this much wear on someone else's saddle. Plus I want to add some D rings, and drilling holes in a borrowed saddle is unthinkable.

Jun. 11, 2011, 05:43 PM
Well, would you just want to buy your friend's saddle? If she's not using it, and you already know that it's comfortable for you and for your horse, buy her saddle from her and then get D-rings put in. Seems much simpler than dealing with the dreaded and dreadful experience that is saddle shopping. Personally I have always found a dressage saddle quite comfy for several hours of trail riding, though of course I don't know what kind of distances you're doing.

I know Dover carries Thorowgoods, but probably doesn't keep the Endurance model in stock for demo-ing.

Jun. 11, 2011, 07:44 PM
Unfortunately, the saddle isn't for sale. Occasionally my friend wants it back when one of her other friends shows up to ride.

Dover's demo policy was pretty restrictive the last time I bought a saddle there. From what I can see, they want to be able to return the saddle to inventory as new if I return it: no rubs from stirrup leathers, no sweat marks, no scratches, etc. It's kind of hard to tell if the saddle will really work if I don't dare ride in it.

Jun. 11, 2011, 09:20 PM

They carry them and I think do demos. Nice people when I was considering one.

Jun. 11, 2011, 10:23 PM
Well, I'm guessing you would let your friend borrow the saddle when she needed it. :-)