PDA

View Full Version : New to racing.... Any advice???

ExcelEventing
Jun. 7, 2011, 11:27 PM
Hi Everyone!
I am a long-time horse person, mostly 3 day eventing. I own my own barn, am a trainer, and a very experienced competitor. My mother just purchased a 2 year old TB colt. It has always been a 'dream' of hers to have a racehorse.
I am just looking for general pointers, or advice as we are total newbies to the racing world. Any advice from supplements, to daily care, vet care, owner tips (what should and shouldnt we do!!)

Here is some info about our situation:
- 2 YO grey colt, by Storm and a half (by Storm Cat), out of Adjudicate Sara, by El Prado (IRE).
- The colt has been started, but not raced.
- We had full x rays done, and there were no issues, his throat was scoped, also no issues.
- We have pulled him from race training and turned him out until around November to let him grow up. The goal is to race him in late spring, as a 3 year old.
-He is staying with his former owners/breeders for his race training.
- When he is done racing, the goal is to re-train him as a 3 day eventer ( I have done this countless time with OTTBs,)
- He will have a home with us for the rest of his life, regardless of his race record.
- Our goal is to have fun, and finish his career with a happy, sound horse.
- We are very realistic, and going into this expecting to lose any $ that we put in!
Hopefully I havent left any important information out!
Thanks in advance.....
Kristy

Laurierace
Jun. 7, 2011, 11:49 PM
Main advice is to cut him as soon as you can. Probably September or so when the flies die down a little bit. Best of luck to you, he is a lucky boy.

Lamb Chop
Jun. 8, 2011, 12:05 AM
He is indeed a lucky colt.

As you probably know, his sire was unraced and his dam trailed the field in her two races. I love the idea of turning him out and letting him mature. Having a race horse is quite a thrill (in addition to being very expensive), and I wish you all the best success!